My experience at open source challenge 2021

My experience at open source challenge 2021

Β·

2 min read

This year has been a fun ride for me, learning front-end development with a lot of challenges and breaks but

when the going gets tough, the tough gets going" .

I don't know if I said that right but I'm writing this blog post about the open source challenge 2021 by open source community africa. I joined the challenge and what's it's all about? Find open source challenges to contribute to within a stipulated date. I learnt a lot of things about open source from contributing to a few projects to learning how to use my git bash well and some open source workflows.

I contributed to the following projects:

πŸ’‘ GADs gallery and doc project ( a project Created by a mentor from Google africa developer scholarship to help the learners about open source). Link to pull request

Link to pull request

πŸ’‘ Uncle big bay and friends ( it's a open source also made to foster participation on open source, it was created by a small tech community I'm part of.

Link to pull request

πŸ’‘ First contributions (yes, the popular first contributions to help beginners get into open source). Link to pull request

πŸ’‘ A COVID-19 stats dashboard, this one was greatπŸ˜„, I used a tool call good first issues and I saw they needed to make the page responsive ( they only did desktop screen) with my CSS skills I jumped on it and πŸ₯³.

Link to pull request

Yeah that's it that pretty much I was able to do, I'm look forward to contributing more open source projects.

Here are a few of my open source goals ;

β€’ Contribute to Bitcoin core , Blockchain related projects.

β€’ Build my own open source projects & community focused at frontend developers and Gen-Zs respectively ( watch out for Golden stylesheets and …….. ).

Thank you πŸš€.

Β