What I LEARNT TODAY 📝- Day 10

What I LEARNT TODAY 📝- Day 10

Wednesdays are for Work

What's up folks ? How're you doing? Today was the second day of Eid-El-Kabir and work continues steadily tomorrow even if I didn't take a break, just vibes and cruise 😎. Let's get to it 🚀

BookWorming

Today I started another chapter of REWORK : Change the Way You Work Forever by Jason Friedman and Daniel Hanneman Hansson and the title was culture. Here are lessons I would like you to read through.

📖 You don’t create a culture : Culture is the byproduct of consistent behaviour. So don’t worry too much about it. Don’t force it. You can’t install a culture. Like a fine scotch, you’ve got to give it time to develop.

📖 Decisions are temporary : Don’t make up problems you don’t have yet. It’s not a problem until it’s a real problem. Most of the things you worry about never happen anyway.

📖 Skip the rock stars: Instead of thinking about how you can land a roomful of rock stars, think about the room instead. Do you have a team you work with instead of focusing on the talented and exceptional ones, why can't you focus on everybody and make them exceptional in their own self.

Rockstar environments develop out of trust, autonomy, and responsibility. They’re a result of giving people the privacy,workspace, and tools they deserve. Great environments show respect

for the people who do the work and how they do it.

📖 Don't treat people like they are kids, give them the tools and resources they need to do work and what them. Don't make it look like they need approval or permission for anything they want to do. You will end up Building a breed of non thinkers.

Decisions are temporary.Optimize for now and worry about the future later.

Articles and Blog-posts

I read two interesting articles today. One was from my friend Hagne, get it right it Agnes but I think she uses Hagne on her blog or somewhere, I'm not sure of where. She wrote an article titled " Plugged in, Switched off ". Is there ever a time when you plugged your phone to the socket but the switch was off? She said the same we are connected to Christ, we have access to him but have not switched on our readiness to him. I thought about this and it really spoke a lot of things to me.Read it here

The second one was about the dark web. We were taught about cyber security on Days before the group and someone raised a question about how to access the dark web… someone dropped an article and I went to read it. So I will try to explore the dark web with caution

Yu can check the Article here

CodeXperience

My today CodeXperience was going well until this evening when I had an error in my stylesheet and deleted it out of ignorance 😭, I tried restoring it back to its normal state but everything just looks disorganized and confusing… I was tired and unhappy because that was my most interesting and challenging project so farz in fact I was already through, just needed a little adjustment and everything went 😕. But I learnt a new thing and what's that did you know you can check your clipboard history, take for instance you use CTRL + C to copy several stuffs you can check for like past 25 clipboard with a simple shortcut WINDOWS + V( the windows button + letter V) , if you have not turned it on before, the command will first ask you to turn it on the you are good to go. I also learnt one big lesson

in coding there are three phases of your abilities ;

  1. Stuffs you have built

  2. Things you are Building

  3. Things you will still build

The most important is No 2 and No 3, things you have built matters but you must learn to throw them away so you can build another thing, giving room for creativity. If an artist doesn't not throw away all of his sketch work or erase his canvas many times, do you think he will have beautiful pieces you see there? So I just left it and said to myself " I was the one who built it, I can build it again and even something bigger".

$B ideas and thoughts

About 40% of my chrome feed is about fundraising, acquisition or an IPO and I will be like " God when". It's not enough to say God when you have aspirations, have you acted on them? What have you done? When our friends achieve something or even a random person achieves something big we celebrate them and take a minute to think about our own self, we think about our journey, progress and keep asking ourselves when we are going to win. We do not take time to ask or notice the work that person has done to make that dream a reality. Your dreams are valid but do something, they wouldn't come to love themselves, they need ignition, they need water to their seeds. Just do it 🛠️.