What i LEARNT today πŸ“ - Day 3

DeepWork Wednesday

What i LEARNT today πŸ“ - Day 3

Today was quite productive I read 50 % of the whole time, built a simple Javascript project then prepared my note for a class I was to take on the Days before group ( a group for developers to learn stuffs and interact)

BookWorming

So the book I read today was Javascript and jQuery: Interactive front-end development by Jon ducketI read about functions, conditionals and Document object models ( about 3 chapters). I had a deeper understanding of functions, data types like objects and arrays… I also skimmed through a few chapters of Javascript for kids. I was reading them simultaneously 🌝.

Article x Blog-posts

I read a few articles but there is technical stuff about CSS and implementing some functionality in Javascript. But let me use this opportunity to share with you what I talked about in today's session on our Days before group on Whatsapp. I led the session and the topic was HOW WAS TO LEARN ANYTHING AS A DEVELOPER: Actionable steps to learn a new technology, language, frameworks or even a new skill for non techies. I gave out 6 actionable steps and here are they.

START WITH WHY 🀷:

Have you read the book START WITH WHY by simon sinek ? watch this video to get a brief understanding of what starting with why means. Why do you want to learn that skill? Do you really need to learn that tech or tool at that moment or you can make do with the one you are using? Answering the question with sincerity will save you some stress 🌝.

A LIGHTER PATH πŸ’‘:

After you might have passed the WHY phase. Don't jump into grabbing a video and watching it. Why not check the real world application of these tech, their use cases, history (why was it developed) and problems it solves. It will serve as a source of inspiration and further deepen your knowledge on how to use that tech to build stuff rather than being stuck in tutorial hell.

FIGURE IT OUT🧐 :

It's time to dive into learning? There is no one resource for learning a particular Tech, you'll find lots of resources online. read the official documentation/guide of that topic, Open a sandbox and play with, watch videos reading article and books about it

Be cautious ; don't keep searching for the best resources to learn something instead figure out the best way you can learn.

ROUTINE + CONSISTENCY β³πŸ•˜:

There's a saying which goes "Rome was not built in a day" they have probably been drawing the plan, laying bricks. Make it a routine, a daily ritual to spend time learning everyday. 20 mins everyday in 30 days is 10 hours. Don't tell yourself you want to learn in a new tech in the next e months instead tell yourself you want to learn it 10 mins everyday for next 3 months ( isn't that simpler to visualize 🌝)

WALK THE TALK πŸ› οΈ :

" OYA WALK THE TALK, OYA WORKTHE TALK " I first heard this saying in a music titled Mind by Davido, Mayorkun ,dremo and other guys. When I was in junior school. What does this mean? We actually learn by doing stuffs, you don't learn how to cook by reading a cookbook, you don't learn how to driving by reading a book on driving, Your car go jam 🀑. When you learn, try to build the smallest possible things.

GOOGLE πŸ‘‰πŸ‘ˆ :

FRIENDS: Google is your friend, your friends are your google. Sometimes I like asking my fellow developers questions and they answer me in layman language. That's all on HOW TO LEARN ANYTHING AS A DEVELOPER. I might just rewrite this as an article.

CodeXperience

I did everything related to code for an average of two hours today and I drank water about every 30 mins. After reading a few chapters of a Javascript book, I picked a front-end countdown challenge I downloaded from the front-end mentor website. I needed concepts of Document object mode, conditionals, functions and Date methods to solve it. After about 30 mins it was working perfectly fine.. even if I wanted to add animation but it wasn't part of the main challenges. I wanted to build one more challenge but my body said NO 🌝.

$B ideas and thoughts

Have you wondered how the principle of compound interest works? It's one of the wonders of Maths and investment. I used the principle of compound interest to further understand how small efforts over time produce big results. If I invested $1000 at 5% per annum for 5 years at the end of five years my interest would be $150 that's a lot of interest right but did you know I would get a profit of about $141 I invested half if the money at same rate and time duration at end of 5th year. Compound interest works on principles of reinvesting capital + profit over time.

So I further came to a conclusion that ; Capital/principal =. Our effort

Rate = How intentional & deliberate we are.

Time = Amount of time we decide to keep doing it .

Thanks for reading what I learnt today. See you tomorrow πŸ‘‹.

Β